First Engagement Story Contest of 2010


The contest is closed and the voting has begun! Read our four entries in the “Comments” section. You can vote once per day until February 10th. Then its time to tally the votes and declare a winner! And don’t worry if you missed this month’s contest. Save that story, and we’ll do it again soon.

The holidays are prime time for engagements and January is a big wedding planning month chocked full of bridal shows. So, with weddings on the brain, here’s a new engagement story contest. Share your story before the end of January and you could win a free portrait sitting. This contest is open to all couples, world wide. We can meet you anywhere all you need to do is provide travel and lodging for two photographers. If we are coming to your area already, travel fees are waved.

We will accept stories through the month of January and have open voting February 1st-10th with the winners being announce on Valentines Day. I can’t wait to hear your stories!!

To post your story simply click the “Comments” section up next to the entry title then post your story in the comments section (at the very bottom). Please include your email address so I can contact you if you win (you can email me directly if you want to be all private about it. 🙂 ). I’d suggest typing your story in Word or some other such program first.

~ by rebeccaclaire on December 29, 2009.

12 Responses to “First Engagement Story Contest of 2010”

  1. Engagement— Rome-Coliseum-midnight-ring-full moon = perfect

    I met my wife working on a Ship in Lebanon. My wife is from the USA and I am from Canada. We both worked onboard a ship for a non-profit organisation. After 4 years working and traveling to 41 countries and dating for 3 years we were ready to return to our homes and figure out what our future would be.
    During our final year i began planning what would be the perfect engagment (consider that I was a volenteer for the past 4 years which = very little money). She is very hard to suprise because she always see it comming. During the year leading up to our engagement i would randomly talk about how excited my parents got when my two olders sisters got engaged and how they have made me promise that i will get engaged close to home so that i can bring her home and party. She also believed that I felt it was very important to ask her father for her hand face to face. (to put it clear I worked very hard and in her mind there was no possible way i was going to ask before getting back to north america) Well i had pick out the ring and had it sitting in my drawer on the ship and we were ready to leave for ROME!!!!!
    Angie was very tired and wanted a little time just the two of us before returning home so i brought up the idea of going to Rome. We were in denmark at the time and Rome was probably the only city that she really wanted to see. So to rome we went.
    Now i’m a very adventurous guy and asked her if she were up to some “crime” (on the ship we did allot of pranks and called them “crime”). I told her that I thought that it would be possiable to sneek into the Coliseum in the middle of the night so that because the story we wanted to make. This was perfect I had planned it and she was following it. Good so far except for i had no idea if we could actually get in except for my desire for a perfect engagement and some looks at online pictures of the fences around this amazing structure.
    The Big Night came and we went to the Coliseum. It was a beautiful night, with a full moon, nice weather, and even better very few people. Part of the beauty of january travels. We walked around a few times looking for the perfect place and getting more and more excited and nervous all at the same time.
    With cobble stone walkways and the arches in the background, and the moonlight illluminating that coliseum I new it was going to happen. It was to beautiful to walk about with out have the ring on this girl. We finally figured on the best because it turned out that the fence was better built than the pictures i had seen. but i wasnt going to be stopped. We sat against the fence as if we were just enjoying a nice night. It was innocent except for the fact that i had my around her and was digging a hole with a sharp rock i had found. After the hole was big enough we looked both ways and i sliped under the fence and then pulled her after. The game was on.
    We got in and were standing on the platform in the middle of the coliseum. I put my bag a little ways back and of coures we needed a picture. I told her to wait and went to my bag. I took off the jacket i was wearing and had on a nice white shirt and grabbed a little box and headed back. She was confused why i had changed (she didnt have a clue) I looked at her and said angie I dont want to go home unless i can take a fincee with me, with that i got down on one knee confessed my undying love and asked her to marry me. and guess what!!!! SHE SAID YES

  2. These stories always make me tear up! What a fun and exciting engagement story! Travel, romance, intrigue. What a great way to start the contest! 🙂

  3. how did you post this???!

  4. Meeting the Family: The Father of the Bride…

    My cousin’s daughter Lou Ann was a strikingly attractive college student when she went on vacation to the Bahaman beaches one spring. She, like so many women enjoy going to the beach and the Bahamas have some of the most beautiful white sandy beaches in the world. It was there on a beach that the romance began. While sunbathing, she met a 4th year dental student named Mark from Texas. Soon they began dating. Mark is a tall, handsome young man with a narrow jaw and beautiful blue eyes. Lou was swept off her feet as they say, and after a year or so, the young dentist decided to ask the all important question. Would she agree to be married?

    Romance is all good and fine, but there are formalities in any relationship. Mark still had to meet Lou’s parents and all her relatives. For the future son-in-law, this meant a trip up into the bitterly cold country of Minnesota. Minnesota is a long, long, long way from the Bahamas…

    Lou Ann’s parents, Dennis and Marge, reside in the very small town of Wasioga, Minnesota. Just how small is it? Why, the town is so small that the town sign says welcome to town on both sides, because if you blink, you could miss seeing the town as you drove through it. Wasioga is so small that the mayor of town runs the corner gas station and the fire truck. A major attraction in downtown is the post office; there is room enough inside for four people, all at the same time. And there is excited talk in town when someone squeals their car tires on Main Street, after dark.

    Customs being what they are, it is proper in a small country town for a gentleman to ask the bride’s parents for their permission to marry their daughter. Mark had never met Lou Ann’s parents, as this would be Mark’s first trip to Minnesota. Marge had met them at the airport and got the couple settled back in at the house. They arrived at the future in-laws home about mid-morning. The car ride down from the international airport in Saint Paul had taken about an hour and a half, allowing time for Mark to build up the courage to meet Lou’s father. Would Dennis agree to let his daughter marry him?

    Finally, it was time for Mark to ask her father. This is all supposed to be a surprise, but generally, the parents have gotten some wind of this before it happens. Borrowing a family car, Mark headed off to Dennis’s office. Asking the father of the bride for his daughter’s hand in marriage is a one man show; the bride is never invited, lest some last minute negotiations be required. The mile long trip from the house to the office took only three long minutes. Mark’s dreaded moment came in the office of the auto parts business.

    Now any self respecting the father of the bride is interested in meeting a prospective son-in-law. As Dennis glanced out the window, he recognized his own car pull into the parking lot. There was the tall, thin man he had seen in Lou’s pictures, heading for the office…

    My cousin Dennis, a man in his fifties, was prepared for this day. He had purposely dressed in filthy, ratty old cover-alls just to meet the future son-in-law…. As Mark walked into the auto parts office, Dennis turned around and raised his hand to cover his mouth.

    Dennis had served time in the US Navy when he was in his late teens and early twenties. His job as a dental assistant was to made dentures for the other sailors. Shipboard sailors seem to need more than the normal amount of dental work and false teeth. As you know, US sailors have a reputation for getting into wild, drunken bar fights with their army and marine rivals while on shore leave. If you ask the sailors, they will unanimously agree that the Navy always wins. Yet the Navy boys frequently leave a lot of their own teeth on the bar room floor, prior to exiting through freshly broken windows at the hands of the dozens of burly marines.

    Fortunately for the navy, most of a sailor’s time is spent aboard ship. During his tour of duty, Dennis had made himself a special set of dentures. The false teeth fit perfectly over his natural teeth, but they were the worst set of teeth you could ever imagine. These dentures, instead of the teeth coming together naturally, had the teeth sticking straight out of his mouth and at odd angles. Dennis had a life size set that made him look like a Halloween monster. All the children would run away screaming when he wore them!

    It was just a moment later when a parts employee asked Dennis to come to the counter to speak to the tall man waiting there.

    “Hi,” Mark said. “I am Mark… I am Lou Ann’s boy friend.”
    “I’m Dennis, nice to meet you,” Lou’s dad said in an illiterate tone of voice.
    “I came to ask for your daughter’s hand in marriage,” Mark said.
    “Oh, I don’t know what to say about that… What ya’ do for work?” Dennis said tentatively as he exposed his protruding dentures.

    When you are a dentist, the first thing you notice about someone is their teeth. And here was the worst set of teeth Mark had ever seen in his life! They were never shown teeth like this during his dental school training…

    “I, I, I, I am a dentist”, Mark stuttered, with a slow Texas twang.
    “G-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-d, I have been l-o-o-o-o-o-king for a dentist for a long time,” Dennis replied, smiling proudly.

    What a dilemma! The father of his intended was an illiterate country bum with a horrible facial problem. No wonder the girl had said yes!!! Her father needed hundred of thousands of dollars worth of tooth and gum repair. And he had already asked for the girl’s hand in marriage. What could he do?

    “Your going to live around here, aren’t you?” Dennis queried.
    “I have already set up my practice already in Texas”, Mark gratefully replied.
    “G-o-o-o-o-d, I’ll come down and stay with you all winter when it gets cool up here,” Dennis answered.

    Just what I need, Mark thought… a live-in father-in-law with a dental nightmare. What could be worse???

    “Welcome to the family Mark, I am sure all the family will want to meet you!” Dennis added.
    “They all look just like me”, Dennis grinned.

    “I can hardly wait to meet them,” Mark sighed… “I can hardly wait!”

  5. That is amazingly hilarious! Poor Mark! When did they let him in on the joke? 🙂

  6. photos from our engagement night:

    Ian’s proposal was both BEAUTIFUL and perfect for us.

    I was driving home from work on Friday, October 9th at 5:15-ish. Ian had called and asked if I wanted to go grab some sushi for dinner at our favorite sushi place. When I got home he met me in the driveway and we were then off to dinner. During dinner he was texting the WHOLE time… but what I didn’t know was that he was texting with my sister who was helping with the staging. Ian and I got ice cream after dinner and then headed home. We get half way to the house and he made me put on a blind fold. Once we get home he helps me out of the car and we start walking up the driveway. I start to hear some music playing from the house and I started recognizing the lyrics in the song playing…. We get to the patio and he takes a step backwards and asked me to take off the blindfold. I took it off and there were hundreds of rose petals and candles everywhere and he carved into pumpkins “Will You Marry Me?”. I then turned around to say something and he was on one knee with a ring box in his hand. It was breathtaking and absolutely perfect.

    Timing couldn’t have been better. The next day we had our closest friends and family over for a day of football and we all got to celebrate together 🙂

    The song that was playing was:
    Joshua Radin: The Fear You Won’t Fall

    Digging a hole and the walls are caving in
    Behind me air’s getting thin but I’m trying
    I’m breathing in
    Come find me
    It hasn’t felt like this before
    It hasn’t felt like home before you
    And I know it’s easy to say but it’s harder to feel
    This way
    And I miss you more than I should
    Than I thought I could
    Can’t get my mind off of you
    I know you’re scared that I’ll soon be over it
    That’s part of it all
    Part of the beauty of falling in love with you is the fear you won’t fall
    It hasn’t felt like this before
    It hasn’t felt like home before you
    And I know it’s easy to say but it’s harder to feel
    This way
    And I miss you more than I should than I thought I could
    Can’t get my mind off of you
    And I hate the phone
    But I wish you’d call
    Thought being alone
    Was better than was better than
    And I know it’s easy to say but it’s harder to feel this way
    And I miss you more than I should
    Than I thought I could
    Can’t get my mind off of you
    Can’t get my mind off of you
    And I know it’s easy to say but it’s harder to feel
    This way
    And I miss you more than I should
    Than I thought I could
    Can’t get my mind off of you

  7. That’s so sweet! How great that your man and your sister could conspire for such an awesome surprise! I bet your sister was about to bust with the secret. 🙂

  8. It was pear shaped, D color, I1 clarity, and it sat in a toolbox in the trunk of my car for almost 2 months. Not because I wanted to make her wait, but I had to come up with the perfect plan for how to propose. It had to be surprising, memorable, and beautiful, but every idea I came up with had a glitch.

    I tried taking her to the synchronized fireflies in Cades Cove (they happen in two places worldwide once a year) and spelling, “Will you marry me Amy?” in Christmas lights to flash with the lightning bugs, but the park rangers wouldn’t let me bring a generator into the woods, so that plan was a bust. If I took her to the mountain top where we had our first hike, we would have to drive 5 hours, and I didn’t trust myself to keep a straight face during the hike. I also tried to train our pet bird to say “will you marry me,” but if I had waited on him, we would still not be engaged.

    Meanwhile all of her single friends were dropping like flies, getting engaged one by one. And I could tell it was taking a toll on her. I wanted to tell her it was coming, and it would be fantastic when it happened.. Way better than her two friends who were proposed to through a fortune cookie, or the other two who were told having them
    as a wife would be the best birthday present ever. I knew I could do something better, but the time kept ticking, and the ring stayed in my trunk.

    Finally after a long day of working opposite shifts and continually missing each other’s calls, I made it home at 2:00am. Enough was enough. I took the box, put it on her rear tire, and ran inside yelling, “Amy, Amy! Wake Up! Somebody’s hit your car!” This got her attention. Before she knew what was happening, I had pulled her out of bed, dragged her outside, and she kept saying, “Are you serious, are you serious?!” When we got to her undamaged car, she looked for a second and said, “that scratch was already there..” and began to go back to bed. Quickly I redirected her to the back tire. When she finally saw the box, she picked it up, but refused to open it repeating, “Are you serious?!” I was on one knee.. We weren’t on a mountain top, and it didn’t involve a fortune cookie, but it was surprising, it was memorable, and she was definitely beautiful, so of course I was serious. I figured if she would say yes to me in a parking lot, she would say yes to me anywhere.

  9. I’m so impressed you managed to wait so long! My husband didn’t make it 24 hours before that thing burned a hole in his pocket and onto my finger. 🙂

  10. […] I really love the beginning of the year. With Christmas, New Years and Valentine’s Day, there are loads of new engagements which means great stories for people to share. With that in mind, I’m opening up my second Engagement Story contest of the year. How do you enter? Well, just tell your story in the Comments section. Be descriptive & feel free to send in pictures which I will add to the post. Here is the link to our first contest of the year. […]

  11. […] 2010 Contest 2010 Winner […]

  12. […] 2010 Contest 2010 Winner […]

Leave a Reply

 
