Tis the season


I’m a Christmas baby. Every year I shared my birthday cake with Jesus. Read more about that on last years birthday post. What this means is that every year, during one of my busiest times (thank you everyone who is ordering Christmas prints & holiday cards. Your business is much appreciated), my family starts asking what I want for Christmas & my birthday. I’m not the best at coming up with a list on the spot, so after years of forgetting what I wanted under pressure (see A Christmas Story) only to remember around January 3rd with a year until the next time I could expect any gift receiving opportunities, I started making a wishlist on Amazon (since I always lost my paper notes). It’s worked quite well, I must say. So in the spirit of birthdays (mine & Jesus’s), here is my Christmas list (and Nathan’s) in case you lost my email (plus, I can include pictures πŸ™‚ )

And if you think this is tacky, that’s okay, you don’t have to read on & you certainly don’t owe me any gifts (you can still come celebrate my birthday on the 19th-not my actual birthday, just the nearest Saturday-with margaritas & bowling). But seriously, my family needs all the help (with pictures & direct links) they can get. They all loath shopping (yet seem to do a pretty good job at holiday time now that we have a system). πŸ™‚ Oh, and if you have any experience/reviews of the items below, please share. I’ll knock them off the list if they are crummy.

First, we’ll start with a link to my amazon wish list.

Nate’s #1 desire is:

or something similar.

My #1 desire is:

but it’s currently unavailable, so I will accept any other full size, weighted key keyboard/piano, preferably with MIDI options. It doesn’t have to be super fancy. It just has to play (and be full size. None of those mini keyed truncated keyboards here). Ever since we sold our piano (back in ’96) I have wanted to get a new one. Alas, that hasn’t happened, so I’m putting in this request. If I get nothing else for both Christmas & birthday and you all join in together to get me this, I’ll be ecstatic. You can find a dealer through their website. We finally have a spot for it (well I’m making a spot b/c I just can’t stand not having a piano anymore).

My #2 desire is really just a toy to replace the one I broke.

Ever since my elph met a tragic end, I have been limping along with my phone camera for all personal events (unless I did drag out the big camera, but then I had to keep an eye on it to keep it from getting knocked over or spilled on or something so I haven’t been bringing it around so much). It’s a decent phone camera, I guess, but I really want a toy camera that fits in a bag and is easy to tote. This one seems pretty sturdy (although the G10 sounds a bit sturdier. Of course, I hear the lowlight is better on the G11 so that’s a trade off) and I got to play with one this fall. You can put a flash on it. A REAL FLASH on a REAL HOTSHOE and there are loads of manual settings. I totally want one, just not as much as the piano b/c I technically have gobs of cameras.

The rest of the items are mostly books and mostly Nathan’s picks. I realized there aren’t many “small” items on there for me, just some big honkin’ ones. So if you’re looking for something smaller, here are a few other ideas:

I need some slippers (size 7.5, warm and cozy for wearing around the house). These look cozy.

Nate does not think these are sexy, but I think the real issue is that women’s slippers just aren’t sexy.

Pajama pants (just the pants part) that are not big, bubblegum pink fluffy monstrosities that are as comfy as they are ugly. I just need regular pj pants like these:

I’d love some boots (flat or heeled with rounded toe. I love laces or other adjustment items)
Here are a few ideas:

Actually, the ones at the very bottom are my favorite, so you can just ignore the rest!

My favorite brands are Earth & Merrell, I have a stupidly high arch and an inability to walk in skinny heels, so wedge or chunky heels or flats are the way to go.

Do you want to get gifts for your grandpuppy & grandkitties (or puppy/kitty nephews)
Alfred needs a new sweater/jacket his measurements are: 18″ shoulder to base of his tail, 22″ around the widest part of his chest.

Both Alfred & the cats have lost or destroyed most of their toys (Alfred finally chewed the ears off his heffalump. I’ll post pictures when I find the poor thing again). Alfred loves plushies with squeakies or without, the cats love things with catnip & lasers, although Alfred usually steals all of their toys.

They also love pillows to lay on & Alfred destroyed the last one with too much vomit.

And one more thing for Nate:
aeron chair Size B with adjustable arms (I’d like the same in a size A. They’re expensive but amazing! Hour 10 is just as comfy as hour 1).

We really don’t need a whole lot. Our house is tiny and already overstuffed. Some lumber to build Nate’s office. Now it’s your turn. What do you want for Christmas (pictures and links are welcome). πŸ™‚

~ by rebeccaclaire on December 3, 2009.

4 Responses to “Tis the season”

  1. I can totally do this! My mother asked, I told her…
    Cast Iron Skillet – like Lodge or Le Creuset
    Microplane grater
    Pancake flipper that won’t melt on the griddle
    Measuring Scale http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002E1AVTI/?tag=apartmentth0a-20
    Adorable houseboat http://www.re-nest.com/re-nest/green-style/green-style-little-floating-home-088231
    Food from a younger land, Mark Kurlansky
    Olive oil mister
    Vegan Brunch, Isa Chandra Moskowitz
    More magnetic poetry
    Fingerless gloves

  2. Oh, and I had been keeping track of my wishlist on my del.i.cious page because if I don’t remember by xmas, my birthday’s pretty much over too.

  3. And just what is the #1 object of Nathan’s desire (after you, of course)? I see the picture, but I’m not 100% sure what it is.

  4. It’s a juicer. Click the picture and it will take you to amazon where you can buy it (or learn more about it then buy it elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

 
