Still driving


I actually am still on the road. We got home, and I had to turn back around and head to Dallas for the eWomen Network conference. But that’s not what we’re talking about here. This part of our road trip was long, but not terrible. The last time we drove Denver to Kansas City we got out of the car in Kansas and felt dizzy from all the extra oxygen. Somehow we adjusted better this time. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_8280

It rained on us again. Boy does the midwest know how to throw a storm! I mean, this is some serious stuff. The worst part is, you can see it from miles away, but there’s only I-70, so you can’t avoid it. For part of the time we seemed to be driving parallel to the storm, but the road took a sharp left and into the heart we went. Oh, then there was the split storm that we thought we might drive between in the little ray of sunshine. Nope! The road veared just enough right to put us under those clouds too. Best part? I forgot to replace my windshield wiper blades when I bought my new battery back in Knoxville and continued to forget to buy them every time we were out and about. Oh well. Just makes it more interesting, right?

IMG_8288

We did get a bit of clear sky. Sort of. If you look to the right, you see what we just finished driving through. If you look up, you see what we were driving under. I guess we could see clear sky at times. Sigh.

IMG_8312

I had to stop, pull off the highway into an old, rundown outlet mall, get out and make sure I got a few shots of this. Both sides of the billboard have the same image. It’s kind of creepy. Floating head and hand in the wheat. I’m guessing that’s Jesus, but that is pure speculation.

We had hoped to stay with a new friend in Lawrence, KS, but had failed to exchange phone numbers and only had facebook by which to communicate. She was moving that weekend (this is Sunday that we were traveling), and hadn’t responded to my posts or messages. I feared her internet was down for the move. Alas, I was correct (she finally got internet a couple of days later and sent a bummed email. Guess that means we’ll have to drive through Kansas again). We gave up around Topeka (after I saw a car hit a dog and started having trouble staying awake) and found a Motel 6 (cheapest rooms available!) Of course, our first pick had a totally sketchy couple wandering about the parking lot. We backed into a spot in front of the building and were getting situated. They walked by the back of the car a couple of times and the last time the guy bent over to see if we were still in the car. Totally sketch! We decided to mosey on down to the Motel 6 at the next exit. It was much nicer (i.e. no creepy couples casing the joint).

I did think the ashtray in our non-smoking room was hilarious!

IMG_8369

Here’s your ashtray.

IMG_8367

Don’t use it!

AND there was a creepy Canadian Mountie.

ohcanadian

I had to shoot this one with my phone. I didn’t want to stand in front of the poster too long for fear he might devour my soul! There was a less creepy farmer next to him illustrating that they had 1000s of locations in both the US and Canada! I’m not sure I want to stay in the Canadian ones unless they can guarantee this guy won’t be there. ๐Ÿ˜‰

~ by rebeccaclaire on August 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
