WOW! This is so profound.


I don’t know how many other businesses deal with this kind of thing on a regular basis. I understand the idea of haggling, I do it when I feel it’s appropriate (like a bazzare in Morocco), but most places in the U.S. have set prices for a reason. They pay the overhead and salaries with hopefully a bit of profit to let the business grow and stabilize them during slow periods. Anyway, without further ado, the best youtube video I have ever seen.

~ by rebeccaclaire on May 28, 2009.

One Response to “WOW! This is so profound.”

  1. A blog I follow recently had an article on haggling: http://www.thesimpledollar.com/2009/05/13/some-thoughts-on-haggling/

    There are some times that *I* think asking for a discount is ok-
    1) when you state a price range for a particular good/service and the sales clerk pushes you over your limit then it’s ok to restate your limit and ask for the discount (as long as it’s before the service is performed or good is consumed!).
    2) when the object is preused and is being resold (yardsales, antique shops, etc) as these values are often arbitrary.
    3) when an unused object in a store is damaged (when I worked retail I would take off for this, I felt bad charging full price for chipped goods)
    4) when you buy objects people normally buy singlely, but you buy in bulk – Like when I buy mixed cases (12 bottles) of wine at the liquor store I ask for the discount they give to matched cases. Sometimes I get it, sometimes I don’t. Normally it’s the clerks who know me that let me have the 10%-15% off.

    Granted, when I’ve “haggled” it’s normally been a simple and polite asking, none of the back and forth in the video.

Leave a Reply

 
