Fruit trees (or Claire has lost her mind)


I’m still up because I’m all excited about cutting down the Bradford Pear in our front yard and replacing it with fruit-bearing trees. I’ve actually diagrammed the yard with the deck we want and other structures plus our raised beds and 8 fruit-bearing trees (dwarf) in the front yard. So check it out and let me know if I’m a nut. The trees I want apparently all need pollinators, so that means I must have 2 of each type of fruit (not necessarily the same exact flavor). I did find you can get trees for very little from http://www.arborday.org.

yard

~ by rebeccaclaire on March 28, 2009.

2 Responses to “Fruit trees (or Claire has lost her mind)”

  1. That’s awesome! The one thing I would be concerned about would be if they would all receive sufficient sun. That’s an awesome garden!

    Thanks for tweeting the Arbor Day site. I was told by Mayo’s that *all* pears are self pollinating, but the site confirmed that they really aren’t, so I guess I need to get another. Looks like I’m getting a Kieffer Pear.

  2. The Arbor Day site is a great site but they do send out smaller trees. If you happen to be seeking larger trees you might want to try some other online nurseries.

Leave a Reply

 
