Engagement Story Contest


gmw_1428So I just couldn’t wait any longer! I declared a winner for all of February, but wait! It’s March! How can I declare a winner for only February? Easy, I just split the contest. So all of you folks out there who haven’t entered their engagement stories have from right at this moment until the end of March to set pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard, I suppose) and get your story in the running.

Don’t forget! The prize is a FREE portrait sitting! Very exciting!  🙂

 

Wondering what you’re up against? Read our current entries here.

~ by rebeccaclaire on March 26, 2009.

5 Responses to “Engagement Story Contest”

  1. I hosted a ladies night only evening at the home of my new fiancé and I, with my friends, family, and now mother and sister in-laws. My fiancé was suppose to pick up and drop off some food for the guest, change clothes, and go hang out with his friends after work. When he arrived home, he told me that his friend car wasn’t running so he would spend the night in, despite having about 13 females in our living room giggling and taking jello shots. A girlfriend of mine sells costume jewelry and brought some items along to sell. She had this gorgeous ring on the display. I saw the ring, put it on my finger, and immediately headed to our bedroom with certainty of having my fiancé buy it for me. I asked him if he liked it and could he buy it for me. He looked very stern and said “No”. I asked why not. His response was “where did you get that from”. I told him where. At that point he goes into the living room filled with women and says whose ring is this. As Tara raised her hand with confusion on her face, he took the ring off my finger and gave it back to Tara. Then he said “I think you will like this one better”, got down on one knee, pulled an even more gorgeous ring from his pocket, and asked me to marry him! In between sobs, I said “YES”…..I also got the other ring as well.

  2. My husband really loved this story! What a brave man you have, to do that in front of a room full of women! I bet the squeals were deafening! I know they would have been were it a room full of my friends!

  3. […] https://rebeccaclaire.wordpress.com/2009/03/26/engagement-story-contest/ […]

  4. Meeting the Family: The Father of the Bride…

    My cousin’s daughter Lou Ann was a strikingly attractive college student when she went on vacation to the Bahaman beaches one spring. She, like so many women enjoy going to the beach and the Bahamas have some of the most beautiful white sandy beaches in the world. It was there on a beach that the romance began. While sunbathing, she met a 4th year dental student named Mark from Texas. Soon they began dating. Mark is a tall, handsome young man with a narrow jaw and beautiful blue eyes. Lou was swept off her feet as they say, and after a year or so, the young dentist decided to ask the all important question. Would she agree to be married?

    Romance is all good and fine, but there are formalities in any relationship. Mark still had to meet Lou’s parents and all her relatives. For the future son-in-law, this meant a trip up into the bitterly cold country of Minnesota. Minnesota is a long, long, long way from the Bahamas…

    Lou Ann’s parents, Dennis and Marge, reside in the very small town of Wasioga, Minnesota. Just how small is it? Why, the town is so small that the town sign says welcome to town on both sides, because if you blink, you could miss seeing the town as you drove through it. Wasioga is so small that the mayor of town runs the corner gas station and the fire truck. A major attraction in downtown is the post office; there is room enough inside for four people, all at the same time. And there is excited talk in town when someone squeals their car tires on Main Street, after dark.

    Customs being what they are, it is proper in a small country town for a gentleman to ask the bride’s parents for their permission to marry their daughter. Mark had never met Lou Ann’s parents, as this would be Mark’s first trip to Minnesota. Marge had met them at the airport and got the couple settled back in at the house. They arrived at the future in-laws home about mid-morning. The car ride down from the international airport in Saint Paul had taken about an hour and a half, allowing time for Mark to build up the courage to meet Lou’s father. Would Dennis agree to let his daughter marry him?

    Finally, it was time for Mark to ask her father. This is all supposed to be a surprise, but generally, the parents have gotten some wind of this before it happens. Borrowing a family car, Mark headed off to Dennis’s office. Asking the father of the bride for his daughter’s hand in marriage is a one man show; the bride is never invited, lest some last minute negotiations be required. The mile long trip from the house to the office took only three long minutes. Mark’s dreaded moment came in the office of the auto parts business.

    Now any self respecting the father of the bride is interested in meeting a prospective son-in-law. As Dennis glanced out the window, he recognized his own car pull into the parking lot. There was the tall, thin man he had seen in Lou’s pictures, heading for the office…

    My cousin Dennis, a man in his fifties, was prepared for this day. He had purposely dressed in filthy, ratty old cover-alls just to meet the future son-in-law…. As Mark walked into the auto parts office, Dennis turned around and raised his hand to cover his mouth.

    Dennis had served time in the US Navy when he was in his late teens and early twenties. His job as a dental assistant was to made dentures for the other sailors. Shipboard sailors seem to need more than the normal amount of dental work and false teeth. As you know, US sailors have a reputation for getting into wild, drunken bar fights with their army and marine rivals while on shore leave. If you ask the sailors, they will unanimously agree that the Navy always wins. Yet the Navy boys frequently leave a lot of their own teeth on the bar room floor, prior to exiting through freshly broken windows at the hands of the dozens of burly marines.

    Fortunately for the navy, most of a sailor’s time is spent aboard ship. During his tour of duty, Dennis had made himself a special set of dentures. The false teeth fit perfectly over his natural teeth, but they were the worst set of teeth you could ever imagine. These dentures, instead of the teeth coming together naturally, had the teeth sticking straight out of his mouth and at odd angles. Dennis had a life size set that made him look like a Halloween monster. All the children would run away screaming when he wore them!

    It was just a moment later when a parts employee asked Dennis to come to the counter to speak to the tall man waiting there.

    “Hi,” Mark said. “I am Mark… I am Lou Ann’s boy friend.”
    “I’m Dennis, nice to meet you,” Lou’s dad said in an illiterate tone of voice.
    “I came to ask for your daughter’s hand in marriage,” Mark said.
    “Oh, I don’t know what to say about that… What ya’ do for work?” Dennis said tentatively as he exposed his protruding dentures.

    When you are a dentist, the first thing you notice about someone is their teeth. And here was the worst set of teeth Mark had ever seen in his life! They were never shown teeth like this during his dental school training…

    “I, I, I, I am a dentist”, Mark stuttered, with a slow Texas twang.
    “G-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-d, I have been l-o-o-o-o-o-king for a dentist for a long time,” Dennis replied, smiling proudly.

    What a dilemma! The father of his intended was an illiterate country bum with a horrible facial problem. No wonder the girl had said yes!!! Her father needed hundred of thousands of dollars worth of tooth and gum repair. And he had already asked for the girl’s hand in marriage. What could he do?

    “Your going to live around here, aren’t you?” Dennis queried.
    “I have already set up my practice already in Texas”, Mark gratefully replied.
    “G-o-o-o-o-d, I’ll come down and stay with you all winter when it gets cool up here,” Dennis answered.

    Just what I need, Mark thought… a live-in father-in-law with a dental nightmare. What could be worse???

    “Welcome to the family Mark, I am sure all the family will want to meet you!” Dennis added.
    “They all look just like me”, Dennis grinned.

    “I can hardly wait to meet them,” Mark sighed… “I can hardly wait!”

  5. […] 2009 Contest pt. 2 2009 Winner #2 […]

Leave a Reply

 
