Happy Birthday, EvaMag


I have been known to do a bit of work for EvaMag over the years, and I think it’s time to get my act together and post some of my favorite shots.  I shot the cover this month for their third birthday as well as a few shots of Leah McCall of Whimsical Gatherings and some of her work.  Leah told me this was the first picture of her that she actually likes! Aw, shucks!  I think she’s so pretty, so it was easy.

rc-cover0309_img_1130rc-cover0309_img_11251

To be honest, this was shot at the base of my front porch stairs (with me standing on the porch) using natural light.  Nothing fancy.  It was 8 a.m. on a Saturday and Leah was dropping off the giant 3 before setting up for the Studio 54 gala.

rc-cover0309_img_1167

Giant 3 made out of my favorite flower (ranunculus) and feathers and bling.  I shot it on the floor of my office with natural window light and three synced canon 580 flashes.  I was impressed the kitties didn’t try to eat it.

rc-cover0309_img_1173

This thing was huge.  It took 2 of us to carry it upstairs.  Look how thick it is.  Pretty darn amazing!

rc-cover0309_img_1195

I love these flowers. They’re so dense with super thin petals.

rc-cover0309_img_1139

Leah had a few smaller arrangements for me to shoot as samples of other work.  These are much simpler than her normal designs, but they’re still beautiful.  This was shot with window light on the floor of my office (bamboo that we laid ourselves and handmade 6″ baseboards we stained black.

rc-cover0309_img_1140

I just really liked this shot.  We used to have hydrangeas growing outside our house when I was little, and I’ve always loved them, but these are extraordinary!

rc-cover0309_img_1189

I just thought this one was adorable! The base is actually an $8 black folding stool from Wal-Mart that I bought back when I first starting shooting headshots (I prefer for people to stand now, they don’t hunch their shoulders as much) Again with the window light.  Oh, and all of the flowers were shot at 1600 on my 20D Canon and I believe I used the 24-70/2.8 (my trusty sidekick).  I shot Leah with my 50 1.8 at a much lower ISO since we were outside.

~ by rebeccaclaire on March 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
