I know better


Rupert and I were sitting in Nate’s office while I tried to read. Rupert was curled up next to me with my arm around him. We were all good until I got bored of reading and couldn’t resist pouncing any longer. So there I went, totally screwing up the harmony. Rupert is picky in his snuggles and must have them on his own terms. They do not include pouncing or hugging or face nuzzling. But Rupert is the cutest, fluffiest kitty, and I have no self control. I leaned over and wrapped my arms around him and nuzzled my face in his fur. The only thing that kept him from bolting immediately was my sneaky ear scratching technique. I really am practiced at this and a good ear scratch is worth the torment to Rupert. It doesn’t last, though. He starts to shift to escape as soon as the scratching slows or I’m not getting it just right. If I can correct in time, I often gain another five minutes, but if I’m too slow, I find myself alone, covered in cat hair, and reminding myself that I know better.

Seriously!  How am I supposed to resist that?

~ by rebeccaclaire on February 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
