What would we accomplish without the internet


I sit here, bored yet too tired to get any work done, thinking about all the things I should do. Photoshop is running an action, so I’m off the hook there. I could tidy up my office, but I did that earlier and the rest of the mess requires more thought than I can muster at this hour. I could tidy up Nathan’s office, but that would clutter up the kitchen and who wants to do dishes at this time of night. I could do some laundry if I didn’t worry that tomorrow I would get distracted and leave a load in the wash for a day or two.

There are so many productive things I could do, but instead, I check my facebook & twitter looking for interesting posts by interesting people. I follow links to articles that link to other articles. Since I obtained an Internet capable mobile device (not a phone so much as a constant fix of world opinion) it has worsened. I thought the laptop was bad enough, but the world wide web in my pocket is far more insidious.

I find my hand itching to check every ding or buzz, hoping it’s something interesting. I am tempted at every red light to check my twitter feed. I know way more about mere acquaintances than I ever cared to learn because it’s all there and I don’t seem to have enough else to do.

What I’m trying to say is, “my name is Claire, and I’m a net-aholic.”

Now that I’ve admitted my problem, it’s time to start the recovery. First, I would like to apologize to anyone who did not get my full attention because I was straining to hear a beep. That was rude, and just because I can be reached instantly at any hour does not mean I must be infinitely accessible to people far away to the detriment of my time with those who are right here.

I will strive towards more limited web use. Only when I need it. I have a blanket to knit for my dad that would be a better use of my time.

I will not check my email every ten minutes. Nor will I check facebook and twitter every time I check my email.

I will put real life ahead of virtual life.

But first I will go to sleep so we can start again tomorrow.

~ by rebeccaclaire on January 18, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
