Georgia & Matt


You may have seen Georgia & Matt’s wedding album earlier.  If not, go check it out.

OK, are you back?  Well their 2 year anniversary is today!  Happy Anniversary, guys!  I love this couple.  And Georgia was so kind to write me an amazing testimonial which I have cleverly pasted below.  So a big HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!  (Just another one in case they missed the first one).  And now it’s time to work on those grandbabies for Carolyn.  No pressure.  😉

Southern Charm and Modern Touches at a Miami Wedding

Describe your favorite picture.
I have 2 that I cannot choose between, so I’ll describe them both!

First is a picture of my father handing me to my husband. The shot is above and behind the alter (taken from the first of 4 tiered balconies above us, so my husband and officiant (his great uncle) are barely visible. You can, however, see the top of their heads, including the scottish beret that symbolizes both of our heritage. My father has my hand in his, and is looking down at it as he gives it to my husband’s outstreched hand. Claire managed to focus on all of our hands at just the right moment, framing the shot expertly so the picture effortlessly captures the moment. The details really come out in the red beret bauble, my white hand, and my father’s bright green lapel orchid.

My other favorite picture does not have my husband or I in it, but it is great nevertheless! We had a very small wedding (80 guests), but when we came in, at least 10-15 people grabbed their cameras. Claire was able to make that shot look like a picture of paparazzi or tourists crowding in to see us, which I felt was a really special touch that made our wedding feel larger than life.
How did the photographer get pictures without being disruptive? Was the photographer equally good with posed photos and action shots?
Claire, her husband Nate, and her assistant Claudine all wore all black clothing, and special soft shoes so that we couldn’t hear them walking around. I honestly don’t remember her being there most of the time, but the great thing was that she was right there, listening, ready to help and not just taking shot after shot. She even helped us get our cake cut right, so I was really impressed with her ability to be “invisible” but there to assist in any other way needed at the time. Her action shots were effortless. I thought I would be self-conscious with the posed shots, but they really took the time to make us feel comfortable. Because they got to know everyone and made the special effort to fly down to Miami from Knoxville, they were able to communicate with everyone by name and really just capture us living in the moment even if we were posing. I’m not a normally “photogenic” person, but she was able to bring out the “me” that I see in the mirror every day, no distortion or fake looking soft-lenses.
What did you order in the way of prints, photo albums, etc.? What packages did the photographer or studio offer? Was there an engagement session included in the price?
We had an included album and engagement session. Claire’s packages are realy wonderful, and she works with great vendors for the album materials. She’ll only settle for the best quality. Her husband also does a lot of the album design, so we were able to customize it and get his input on what would look good. They were able to really tell the “story” of the day, and the designs and architectural details that they used as accents were so clean and modern. Claire offered a good number of packages to suite any need, such as bridal portrait only, engagement session only, and different shot/photographer arragements, and we also ordered brag books and some different sized pictures for our own use. Claire also has a service that will put any picture on canvas in different ways, and almost 2 years after the wedding, my husband and I still plan on ordering things from her! She’s just as prompt to respond now as she was before the wedding, always willing to meet and discuss things like anniversary sessions or new pics, etc.
How did the photographer help make you and your family comfortable with posing for pictures?
Because they got to know everyone and made the special effort to fly down to Miami from Knoxville, they were able to communicate with everyone by name and really just capture us living in the moment even if we were posing. I’m not a normally “photogenic” person, but she was able to bring out the “me” that I see in the mirror every day, no distortion or fake looking soft-lenses. She caught on so fast to all of the little expression my family and husband make and was able to get great “personality” shots of us after only a few hours with us on the rehearsal day.
~ by rebeccaclaire on January 6, 2009.

One Response to “Georgia & Matt”

  1. Lovely pictures and lovely comments. I’ve seen it done, and what Georgia describes is the norm.

Leave a Reply

 
