The Story of Stuff


A friend of mine posted this on her facebook, and I thought it was great. I know, I need to get back to posting more original stuff. It’s the last week of Christmas picture orders, though, and I’m trying my best to not lose my mind. We also have a few more albums to get designed, so that’s exciting. I also did my first V.O. gig (other than the time in ’97 I voiced a few in-store radio commercials I wrote for Wal-Mart Hanes back-to-school underwear. Yeah. I’m that cool.) Perhaps I should rerecord those spots for your listening pleasure. They were pretty fun. I only heard half of one back when they were playing. The Wal-Mart in Cookeville turned off their radio (which is against company policy. Especially when someone goes there specifically to hear their commercial. Stinkin’ Wal-Mart. Oh if only that were their only fault…) and the Wal-Mart in Winston-Salem (where I was living and working for RJReynold’s ad agency–they did allow smoking in the building, ew–who also did Hanes and some guns, but mostly cigarettes) made an announcement in the middle of it. Sigh. That trip was also the one where my mom turned suddenly and wacked the corner of my glasses in just the right way so that the ear piece broke and stood straight out from my head. Luckily the insurance on them didn’t run out until the next month, so I got a new pair of glasses out of the deal for free! But I had to start college semi-blind. Oh well again.

Anyway, back on track, where was I… Oh, my new commercial for BST Concierge will be playing on WATE here in Knoxville next week. So listen for it. It’s a cute little spot.  I’m pretty proud of myself.

Now that we’re just rambling, what else did I do today?  Well, I went to my REO meeting.  I love my networking group.  They’re so fun.  Here’s my referral request, in case any of you good folks want to send me some business but aren’t clear on what I’m looking for:

Claire Presnall with Rebecca Claire Photography is looking for weddings and school portrait opportunities as well as voice over work. She does photojournalistic “ninja-stealth” style wedding and event coverage and school portraits that really capture who your kids are, not just what they look like. Her voice over talents include 3 different British accents, a “Fran Drescher” impersonation/voice, a valley girl accent, 3 different southern accents, as well as “normal woman” voices and many more.

Some of you may be wondering, “what is a REO?”  Well, REO stands for Referral Exchange Organization.  Raeus Cannon started it and it’s the best way to drum up new business.  I’ve put a link to the website up there (it’s the underlined stuff, Granny–that’s my grandmother’s “grandmother” name, in case she happens upon this blog–I did send her the address.  No I’m not trying to insult you by calling you a “granny.”)

Well, I think I’ll get back to work on my right glove (left on is DONE!!)  Was this interesting enough to keep you kids coming back for more?  I’ll try to do better next time.  And for those of you fussing because I’m not working on all of those Christmas orders I was talking about, the lab doesn’t start anything after 6, so I’ve uploaded what I can today and will get back on it tomorrow.  Don’t be such workaholics.  A girl can have a little fun, right?  Ooh, I did finish the edit on the shoot I did for Above the Rest last week.  They do amazing things with balloons.  I’ll post some pics soon.  I just hate to post here before the client gets to see them.  It seems they should get to see everything first.  They did pay for it.

~ by rebeccaclaire on December 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
