Monks, WTF!


Monks brawling at the burial place of Jesus?!  I have to admit, I’m not all about organized religion.  I’ve had some issues with overly pushy proselytizers that left a bad taste in my mouth.  Even so, my general belief with all religions is that they are about a person’s relationship with their deity of choice.  Christianity is the one I have had the most exposure to, being raised Southern Baptist in the South.  My general understanding of Jesus was that he was a swell guy who got along with just about everyone.  He didn’t judge and was very forgiving.  So why on earth are monks following his teachings getting into brawls!!  They’re all worshipping the same guy!  Are they afraid Jesus is going to think the other group is doing a better job and favor them?  I don’t know that Jesus would be down with the brawling thing, honestly.  Here’s my advice.  Go back and read that stuff about turning the other cheek, then sit in your room and think about it until you decide you can be nice and get along.

~ by rebeccaclaire on November 10, 2008.

One Response to “Monks, WTF!”

  1. Hi Rebecca, I don’t think Jesus would be okay with way too much of what goes on in this world. For me, WWJD = “Why can’t we all just get along?” There’s no way I can believe Jesus would be all about so much fighting between groups of people and judgment of each other.

Leave a Reply

 
