HURRAY!


Ok, if you haven’t figured it out, I’m a bit of a liberal.  So tonight was so sweet!!  After 2 bitter defeats (which we won’t speak of.  Still a little bitter.) I finally got a winner!!  Obama’s speech was amazing!  I truly hope this country can start to work together to heal the wounds that have been such a problem in this new millennium.  I have had the hardest time understanding the messages of hate and intolerance that seem to have spread across the country, and it looks like there are a lot of people who agree.  

I must say, I think McCain was the best candidate the Republicans had to offer (and he has been since the 2000 election.  I can’t imagine how much better off we would be if he had won the nomination over Bush way back when).  He really has been one to work across party lines.  That’s why I’ve been so disappointed in the last few months of his campaign.  I really think that McCain lost not only because Obama is amazing and the more qualified candidate, but because he lost focus on who he is and why people liked him.  He lost his sense of self in a desperate grab for the White House.  He wanted to win badly enough to sell out, and it just came off as false.  So what do we learn here?  Be true to yourself, because we can all spot a poser, and nobody likes a poser.  

But I do think McCain’s speech was beautiful.  It was a speech of reconciliation.  An offer to work across party lines as he has done in the past, and a call to his supporters to put away their disappointment and ignore the hate-filled words of so many ignoramuses who are the reason we are in such dire straights.  He asked us to work together, and I’m all for it!  I said years ago that it if McCain won the nomination, he would be a hard one not to vote for.  Sarah Palin (and the scariness of the “if you’re not with us, you’re against us” mentality of so many high ranking party members and party pundits.  Can we say Big Brother?) sealed that one.  

I’m just so excited!  Today is our first day to start mending those bridges and roll up our sleeves and get to work fixing this mess!  So let’s work together and make this country the great place we know it can be.  And please, stop discriminating against people.  With all the joy of the Presidential election, I was so saddened to see the number of discriminatory ballot measures out there.  Of course, as I learned in Ishmael, there is no ONE right way for people to live.  But like the saying goes, “Can’t we all just get along?” 

I will admit, I’m probably going to be a bit giddy for the rest of the week (after all, I wore black until I ran out of black clothes last time.  I do get into this stuff), but I’ll try not to rub it in to the 63% disappointed Tennesseans I see.  Hey, Fulmer’s leaving.  There’s something to be happy about, right?  (I don’t really know.  I don’t watch a lot of football.  “They” just told me it was a good thing.)

~ by rebeccaclaire on November 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
