California Proposition 8


As a wedding professional, I don’t see how it would be a good business move to support banning marriage between two consenting adults.  However, I have seen several wedding websites which do so (these are the advertising sites where vendors like myself can pay for a listing so that brides can find and hopefully hire us).  Really, guys, why are we limiting our market?  I’m not even talking about the fact that it wasn’t that long ago that mixed race marriage was illegal in many places.  I’m not talking about my personal stance as a person with gay friends (or even if I had none.  As a person who found her one true love and would be crushed if someone told me we couldn’t be together and our love didn’t really count).  I’m talking straight business (no pun intended).  I know several photographers in town who are not comfortable with the idea of photographing a gay wedding.  GREAT!  I’ll do it!  Love is love.

On a personal note.  I think love is wonderful.  I was so excited to declare my love for Nathan in front of my family and friends.  It’s been a real boon to share health insurance, auto insurance, all of our rates went down, and I know if either of us is in the hospital, the other one has every right to make decisions and stay together through whatever life may throw our way.  In this day of high divorce rates, even the sanctity of straight marriage seems questionable.  Why deny a whole group the chance to solidify their love legally?  Let them prove to the world that their love is just as strong as the love between two people of opposite gender and deserves the same rights and privileges that have been enjoyed (and in some cases abused) by straight couples.

Getting off my soapbox now.  But seriously, I will photograph GLBT weddings.  I think it would be just as much fun as shooting a straight wedding.  Maybe more so because I would know the couple had to fight for their right to marry, so it would mean just that much more to them.  I’d probably cry.  🙂

UPDATE: We live in the Dark Ages, but delightfully, we have funny videos to raise our spirits.

~ by rebeccaclaire on November 2, 2008.

2 Responses to “California Proposition 8”

  1. Christians! Don’t be fooled by a Mormon LDS trick! Save Christianity and vote NO on proposition 8! See http://Batyzim.com/ for the real, Christian, story.

    BTW: The Mormons have been instructed by their leaders to deface and vandalize their own signs to make themselves look like victims. It’s an old trick, and a shame the Media fell for it.

  2. OK, so the above comment isn’t really the reaction I was expecting. Honestly, I have several Mormon friends and they are incredibly nice people. This is just more hate or at least dislike of people who are different.

Leave a Reply

 
