Big Fatty’s


Current mood:  satisfied

So, I photographed Big Fatty’s and the owner Lisa for Eva Mag back in October. The article is out this month, and one picture has been taunting me. Which one? That’d be the big vat o’ banana pudding. See, after the shoot, I got to eat the shrimp po’ boy and the fried okra, but the banana pudding was what called my name. It has been haunting me for over a month!

This evening, Nathan, Larry, and I were trying to determine the dinner choice. I suggested Big Fatty’s (I’ve been trying to get there since the shoot) and it was a go. We almost couldn’t find it, but I had the number and called for directions. (They’re between Knox News, the adult bookstore, and a tire store on Kingston Pike, just east of Gormet’s Market, another great place to eat). Everything was fabulous. Just what the doctor ordered (no really, I’m sick and the best thing for sick is good southern cooking). I think we hurt ourselves, but we made room for the banana pudding. OH MY GOD! It was fabulous! I was afraid I’d built it up in my mind to be better than it really was. I hadn’t. It was even better than I’d imagined! It’s like banana custard. And it isn’t that boxed/powdered pudding. This is the read deal! Homemade from scratch pudding, real bananas, nilla wafers, and actual whipped cream. Did I say OH MY GOD! Even if you don’t like banana pudding, you should try it. It is that good.

So, Big Fatty’s on Kingston Pike. Just down the street from Panera and across the street from the fancy little strip shopping thing with the Wok-something restaurant. I want everyone to eat there so they become incredibly successful and never close. FABULOUS!

2 Comments
2 Kudos 

 

 

 

karrie 
 
 

Yum! I love banana pudding. I read the article in the EVA mag and want to try eating there as well. Glad to hear it’s as good as it sounded.

Posted by karrie on Sunday, November 18, 2007 – 8:01 PM 

 
Meredith 
 
 

Meredith Priest

I have had the banana pudding too….excellent! I live within walking distance too…very dangerous!

Posted by Meredith on Wednesday, December 12, 2007 – 12:37 AM 

~ by rebeccaclaire on November 15, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
