Girls need tools too


Girls need tools too

So, I’m trying to measure my house for flooring.  I’m doing this on my own b/c Nate has work today.  Of course, our entire house is a construction zone and filled with unopened boxes from our move (nearing the 1 year mark).  It’s more complex than one might imagine.  But, we have a fancy new tape measure with batteries and buttons.  Yay.  The problem is, this thing is made for men with big man hands.  I’m not a man.  I don’t have man hands.  I don’t have teeny tiny girl hands, but I have smallish woman hands.  So, I’m holding the thing and trying to feed it in the right direction, and next thing I know, it’s in the kitty watering fountain and the water from the fountain is on the floor.

So, I clean everything up and break out the old school tape that is more my size.  I do a few more measurements, but then it gets away from me and smacks into my thumb (which still hurts with a dull, throbbing pain that probably won’t even bruise so everyone will think I’m a big baby.)  So I whimper for a sec, realize that the cats don’t actually care, suck it up and get back to work.  When it tries to get me again, I drop it and stepped back.  Sadly, this technique results in a nick in our crappy laminate flooring.  Too bad I wasn’t in any other room in the house.  Those are all sub floor (except for the 2 offices which we don’t need to measure b/c they have bamboo).  

Anyway, the measuring is done, but I’m not at the store yet.  Why?  That’s because my cell phone is nearly dead, and I’ve once again lost my car charger.  I have no clue where it could be.  It was in my car and now it’s not.  I don’t want to be there with a dead phone and a question for Nate, so I’m stuck to the wall charging it.  It’s nearly 4:30, though, and I’m thinking this could wait until tomorrow.  I have a headache (probably dehydration, which is odd b/c we just ate lunch, and I usually drink a ton of water at lunch), and I’m kind of out of it.  I’ve been extra clutzy the last few days and it makes me nervous about going out into the world.  I nearly ran over a homeless guy crossing the street.  I was watching the guy in the beat up car who didn’t look like he was interested in waiting his turn at the 4-way stop, and didn’t even see the guy in the cross walk.  That would have been a bummer on way too many levels.  Luckily, I didn’t hit him, the beatup car waited until I was out of the intersection, and we all went on our merry way.

I also need to go to the insurance office.  I think I’ll wait until tomorrow.  I spent the first part of today doing accounting stuff with the accountant.  That was a pretty full day’s worth of work.  I need to put together an invoice for Monday and Tuesday, but Nate has 2-3 of his own to do, so we can do that together when he gets home.  Yeah, I’m feeling a bit off.  Tomorrow is a new day.  I’ll get it together then.

~ by rebeccaclaire on February 1, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
