The most frightening movie I’ve ever seen


The most frightening movie I’ve ever seen
Current mood:  scared

Idiocracy, starring Luke Wilson (you know, Owen’s brother).  Nate picked this one up.  It’s by the guy who did Office Space, and I think it’s supposed to be a comedy.  The premise is that rednecks and morons out reproduce smart people at a ratio of about 30:1.  Eventually, the smart people become extinct and the world is populated purely by the people who shop at my Wal-Mart.  Idiocracy ensues (thus the name).

I found myself laughing quite a bit, but it was to fight back the tears.  It’s more of a social commentary than a stupid people are funny film.  The scariest part about it is how fast we are headed in this direction.  I mean, honestly, how many times can they show people getting hit in the nuts on America’s Funniest Home Videos?  

Anyway, Nate and I consoled ourselves in the idea that before we truly hit the level of shear ridiculousness portrayed in the movie, we would die.  Disease or famine or wild dogs would kill off the human race, and perhaps the next primate in line would take over.  Hell, maybe the wild dogs would get top billing on the food chain for knocking off the former champs.  I would highly recommend this movie to anyone who wants to feel depressed about the state of the human race, or anyone who really loves seeing people getting kicked in the nuts.

 

Mel 
 
 

LOLOL – I haven’t seen it yet.  Actually, I wasn’t going to see it because I was afraid it would ruin my higher-than-neutral opinion of Luke Wilson.  However, now that I have read your opinion on the movie, I will definitely have to see it!  I can’t wait to feel depressed about the state of the human race – I already am pretty depressed!

Posted by Mel on Tuesday, January 23, 2007 – 10:55 PM

~ by rebeccaclaire on January 23, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
