HELP ME COMPUTER PEOPLE


So, my computer decided that I don’t need the files on my external drive.  I decided I needed to back them up a few days ago and had started the process, but hadn’t finished.  I was in the middle of burning a disk and next thing I know, the burn software was messing up b/c it couldn’t find the files.  I went to go check on what was wrong and next thing I know, my 232 gigs were reading at 4.27 gigs.  “My computer” still says I have 232 gigs on the drive, but ALL of the folders but 1 say they’re empty.

Now, this is not the complete end of the world.  I back EVERYTHING up immediately upon downloading.  I don’t format cards until a dvd is burned.  I have the original raw files.  What I don’t have is all of the renumbered raw files, thus making my life a living hell of picture order matching.

Anyway, the computer says “Windows Delayed Write File cannot save file J:\$Mft this may be due to a problem with your computer hardware or network connection.  Try saving the file elsewhere.”  Now, that’s totally useless b/c by that point, the file is GONE GONE GONE (and I mean gone)!!!  I don’t exactly know what to do.  Files that were there 10 minutes ago are gone now.  The computer is off.

If you know what the problem is and how to fix it, please message me!  If you just have some vague inkling of an idea, let me know.  I have NO CLUE what is going on.  It’s freaking me out.

I think I’ll go cry now.

~ by rebeccaclaire on December 8, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
