Dammit, Jim, I’m a photographer not a designer


Well, I’m trying my hand at design.  Nate is giving me some pointers, and we’ll tweak the final product together.  I’ve had so many album designs come in lately, and Nate is so busy with that plus his broadcast work.  He’s doing what he can, but he can’t do everything.  Claudine is also a designer, but she’s slammed with other photographers’ books.  So it’s up to me.  
It’s not like I’m starting from scratch.  In college, I hung out with the graphic design majors almost more than the photographers.  I know good design from bad.  I design every matted album myself, but those involve using matts that the album company designs.  The real trick is creating good design rather than simply critiquing.  

I do have an advantage, though.  I know the couple way better than anyone else on my team.  I’ve met with them many times and talked about their likes and dislikes.  I really try to get a feel for their particular style.  Usually I then try to convey that to Nate, but not this time.  I hope it turns out well.  If not, he’ll rework it for me.  Either way, there will be a great designer album.

Well, back to PSCS2.  Gotta love it!

~ by rebeccaclaire on December 6, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
