Fun with accounting


Fun with accounting

 

You know what drives me nuts?  Wal-Mart’s random descriptor program.  Take a recent receipt listing my purchase as two “latch tote” items valued at $12.98 each.  To me, a tote denotes a small bag of carrying size; something you would “tote” around with you.  The “latch” descriptor denotes some sort of closing mechanism for this small bag.  Now, this purchase was made several weeks ago, and I have no idea what this latch tote is, but apparently I needed 2 of them. 
 

I went to Wal-Mart’s website and searched “Latch Tote.”  There is no such item.  I searched the sku#, but they don’t have that feature.  So I began wracking my brain.  What did I buy two of two weeks ago? It latched and was tote-like.  I finally came up with the answer.  I bought two GIGANTIC Rubbermaid bins to hold our garbage.  Hmm, that is not exactly what I would consider a “tote.”  They do have wheels which make them portable, though I would certainly not tote them around, and they do latch.  My question is, “who determined that these should be labeled “tote” rather than “bin.””  I’m sure it doesn’t matter to most people, but I’m extremely anal and would like to know where to file this particular purchase.

 
To you Wal-Mart nay-sayers; I know they are evil.  I know they treat their employees shabbily.  I know they treat their vendors shabbily.  I live in Knoxville, TN.  I needed giant Rubbermaid bins.  Target does not carry such things.  Kroger does not carry such things.  Home Depot and Lowe’s probably do, but the last time I was there, they did not have the size I needed.  So I’m left with the evil Mart of Wal who pays poorly and is lacking in benefits.  Bad, Wal-Mart.  Bad!

Zimmerman 
 
 

AMEN! Evil is Wal-Mart!

Posted by Zimmerman on Monday, November 27, 2006 – 1:16 PM 

 
Mel 
 
 

count me in with the nay-sayers

Posted by Mel on Monday, November 27, 2006 – 1:16 PM 

 
Heather 
 
 

Wal-mart has a horrible website.  I searched for a set of dishes once and and only dvd’s came up.  How does dishes = dvd’s? I avoid it all costs.  Target’s website is awesome and I highly recommend purchases from it.

Posted by Heather on Tuesday, November 28, 2006 – 11:31 PM 

 
Binkums 
 
 

You should ask Beth about this. She, like Walmart, is from Arkansas. Therefore, she should be held personally responsible for all such claims. I, being from Ann Arbor, will respond to grievances regarding the Michigan football loss to Ohio State.

Posted by Binkums on Monday, December 04, 2006 – 2:36 PM 

~ by rebeccaclaire on November 26, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
