Mom for sale…CHEAP!


Mom for sale…CHEAP!
Current mood:  aggravated

She’s really good at proof reading professional letters and resumes.  If you’re looking for a new job, this is the mom for you!

So, apparently I am unable to make decisions on my own.  My mom called Robin’s mom about a bridal shower Paula and Martha are planning for me.  Her call was to tell them that she and I had decided to move the Sunday shower to Saturday if I didn’t book work on that Saturday before a certain date.  We decided no such thing.  Mom wanted to move the shower (we moved it once for her already) b/c it conflicts with her work schedule.  Well, that’s fine.  Skip the shower.  It’s not like the mother of the bride has to come to EVERYTHING!  And it is certainly inappropriate for her to start rescheduling things behind my back.  As stated in my previous post, I thought the goal was to schedule it so that I could attend.  If I book work that day,  I suppose it’ll just have to be a Mother of the Bride shower.  I am so frustrated with this woman!  Please!  Someone take her!

You know, this blog should just be called, Claire’s Mom is a Bossy Psycho.  It seems to be my most common topic.  Of course, I know how to fix this.  DON’T EVER TELL MY MOM I’M GETTING MARRIED!  If only I could convince her that the wedding was called off but Nate and I are staying together…  Hmmm…

Amy 
 
 

I feel for you, homie:)  I think I fought with my mom on a daily basis during the wedding planning, not to mention at the wedding.  And my engagement was a year and a half!!!!!  You should elope……love amy

Posted by Amy on Monday, July 17, 2006 – 1:06 PM 
[Reply to this]  [Remove]  [Block User]

 
Heather 
 
 

 

I told my parents my wedding day was my day.  Not theirs.  They already had their day.  I told them things will go as I plan them.  If you don’t like it  then don’t come. My parents know better than trying to tell me what to do. On showers, I let whoever wanted plan one.  I left it up to them and I just showed up. I ended up with 5 showers and emptied all my wedding registries doing that!

You need to sit down with her and tell her that her bossy ways are ruining the experience for you.  Granted she can provide her input and financial support but she has to keep in mind it is your day not hers. Back in the 60’s and 70’s all  mothers planned their daughters wedding and had control. Her mother may have done that to her so she is doing it to you. That is not the case anymore and hasn’t been for at least 20 years. Have a heart to heart talk with her. 

If that doesn’t work then run away and elope.  Tell your freinds where to meet you and we will all show up.

 

Posted by Heather on Monday, July 17, 2006 – 5:33 PM 

~ by rebeccaclaire on July 16, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
